Krueger Named 2017 Moynihan Prize Recipient

Oct. 18, 2016

The American Academy of Political and Social Science (AAPSS) has named Alan Krueger the recipient of the 2017 Daniel Patrick Moynihan Prize.

The Moynihan Prize was created to honor the legacy of the late Senator Daniel Patrick Moynihan, who championed the use of rigorous social science research in service of the public good. As one of the country’s oldest learned societies, the AAPSS advances science and public policy by bringing research to bear on critical social problems.

Krueger was inducted as an AAPSS Fellow in 2003, and will formally accept the Moynihan Prize on Capitol Hill on May 18, 2017. He will deliver a lecture focusing on the economics of alternative work arrangements and what politicians and policymakers can do to support the growing segment of the American workforce that works within these arrangements.

His recently released working paper, “Where Have All the Workers Gone?,” examines the movements and trends of the labor force participation rate in the United States, which reached a near 40-year low of 62.4 percent in September 2015.

Krueger is the Bendheim Professor of Economics and Public Policy at Princeton University’s Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs and director of Princeton’s Survey Research Center. He served as chairman of President Barack Obama’s Council of Economic Advisers and as a member of his cabinet from November 2011 to August 2013.