Naor receives Ostrowski Prize in Higher Mathematics

Written by
Princeton University
Nov. 13, 2019

Professor of Mathematics Assaf Naor has been awarded the 2019 Ostrowski Prize in Higher Mathematics in recognition of his pioneering achievements at the interface of the geometry of Banach spaces, the structure of metric spaces and algorithms.

The Ostrowski Prize was established by Alexander Markovich Ostrowski (1893-1986), a former professor of mathematics at the University of Basel. Since 1989, the foundation awards every other year a prize for outstanding achievements in the field of pure mathematics and in the foundations of numerical mathematics. The prize is worth 100,000 Swiss Francs (around $100,600).

Previous recipients associated with Princeton include Andrew Wiles, the James S. McDonnell Distinguished University Professor of Mathematics, Emeritus (1995); Peter Sarnak, the Eugene Higgins Professor of Mathematics (2001); Paul Seymour, the Albert Baldwin Dod Professor of Mathematics (2003); 1996 graduate alumnus Terence Tao (2005); and Visiting Lecturer with Rank of Professor Akshay Venkatesh, a 2002 graduate alumnus (2017).

View main article.