Ostriker and Page receive Gruber Cosmology Prize for theoretical and experimental explorations of the universe

Monday, Jun 15, 2015

The 2015 Gruber Foundation Cosmology Prize has been awarded to Jeremiah Ostriker  and Lyman Page, Jr. of Princeton University, and John Carlstrom of the University of Chicago, for their "individual and collective contributions to the study of the universe on the largest scales."          

From the Gruber Foundation: "The 2015 prize is divided into two parts: half to a distinguished theorist, and the other half to two exceptional experimentalists. The theorist is Ostriker, who is being honored for his groundbreaking body of work over a five-decade career, while Carlstrom and Page have each overseen ground-based experiments providing a wealth of information about the origins and evolution of the universe.  Together the theoretical and experimental work of these three scientists has contributed to, clarified, and advanced today’s standard cosmological model."

Ostriker will receive half of the $500,000 award, while Carlstrom and Page will divide the other half.  Each will also receive a gold medal at the XXIX General Assembly of the International Astronomical Union in Honolulu, Hawaii, on August 3."

Full details