Three faculty elected 2019 Fellows of the American Physical Society

Written by
Office of the Dean for Research
Oct. 3, 2019

Three faculty members from Princeton's Department of Physics have been elected 2019 Fellows of the American Physical Society. The professional society, with more than 55,000 worldwide members, annually recognizes as fellows no more than one-half of one percent of its membership. 

Cristiano Galbiati
Citation: For the measurement of Berillium-7 and pep solar neutrinos and for the development of the liquid argon technology for the background-free exploration of dark matter at the Gran Sasso underground laboratory.
Nominated by: Forum on International Physics

Jason Petta
Citation: For pioneering contributions to the field of semiconductor quantum devices, including coherent manipulation of electron spin states in double quantum wells, the realization of multi-qubit silicon-based quantum devices, and observation of single electron-single spin coupling in cavity quantum-dot circuits.
Nominated by: Division of Quantum Information

Joshua Shaevitz
Citation: For fundamental contributions to the understanding of the mechanics and dynamics of biological systems, from single molecules to cell collectives to behaving animals, through the development of new techniques for precision measurement.
Nominated by: Division of Biological Physics